top of page


Belle Isle Conservancy is a private 501(c)3 nonprofit organization, governed by a 23-member board of directors, with ex-officio seats for representatives from the Michigan Department of Natural Resources, the City of Detroit, and the Belle Isle Conservancy's Emerging Patrons Council. 


Belle Isle Conservancy board member Nancy Vella has been named as the Chairperson of the Board of Directors.  Nancy joined the Conservancy’s board in 2015 and has served as the Vice Chairperson since 2018. 
Nancy retired in 2019 after a 40-year career with Deloitte Tax LLP.  As a CPA and CFP, Nancy lead the Detroit Office Private Wealth Group.  During her time with Deloitte, Nancy served many years as the National Tax Well-being Leader, the North Central Tax Talent Leader, the Central Region Diversity and Inclusion Leader, and the MSU Lead University Partner for Deloitte’s Strategic University Program. 

Nancy is a proud MSU Spartan, a graduate of the Eli Broad College of Business. She served six years on the Michigan State University Eli Broad Alumni Board of Directors and as its President from 2017-2018. Nancy was named the College of Business Outstanding Alumna of the year in 2018.

Belle Isle Conservancy Names Nancy Vella as Chair of Board of Directors, Welcomes New Board Members

Among her community roles, Nancy served on the Board of Directors and as Treasurer of the historic Detroit Athletic Club. As a member of its Board, she also chaired the Detroit Athletic Club Outreach Committee. Nancy has served as a member of the Advisory Committee for the Community Foundation of Southeastern Michigan.  Nancy also served on the Corporate Executive Committee of the American Heart Association Go Red for Women Luncheon.  Additionally, she engaged as a mentor while working with the Deloitte Cornerstone Career Pathways Program, which prepared students in urban communities for fulfilling college experiences and successful careers across a variety of highly-skilled professions and industries.

The Conservancy also welcomes four new members to the Board of Directors:

Dr. Shauna Diggs | Cosmedic Dermatology
Diane Dossin | Retired Chief Tax Officer, Ford Motor Company
Maud Lyon | Econsult Solutions Inc.
Nico Schulz | The Soave Real Estate Group

Nancy Vella, Chair

Deloitte Tax, Retired

Gabriel Valle, Vice Chair

ITC Holdings, Corp.

Sean Moran, Secretary

Morgan Stanley

Audrey J. Harvey, Treasurer

Blue Cross Blue Shield of Michigan Foundation

David Bell, Jr. 

City of Detroit Buildings Safety Engineering & Environment Dept.

Dawn Bilobran

313 Historic Preservation

Jon B. Cotton

Apex Health, Inc.

Dr. Shauna Diggs

Cosmedic Dermatology

Diane Dossin

Retired Chief Tax Officer, Ford Motor Company

Meagan Dunn

Covenant House

Hal Garling

General Motors

Peter Ghafari

Ghafari Associates / G-Tech Services

Evette Griffie

DTE Energy

Joya R. Harris

DCI Marketing

Robin Heller

Community Volunteer

Kateri Kerwin

Community Volunteer

Pastor Solomon Kinloch

Triumph Church

Maud Lyon

Econsult Solutions Inc.

Gary Marowske

Flame Furnace

Terri Mial

 River Rouge Public Schools

Allan Nachman

Butzel Long, P. C.

Ron Olson

Michigan Department of Natural Resources

Shani J. Penn

JPW Strategies

Colleen M. Robar

Robar PR

Nico Schultz

The Soave Real Estate Group

JJ Velez

Quicken Loans Community Fund

bottom of page